Automated Professional Lien Forms for your Construction Company

State Laws

State
Pre-Lien Notice
Notice of Intent
Lien Notice
Website link
Alabama
Required Before Lien
None Required
Within 6 months from the last day for Original Contractors, 4 months for Subs and Material suppliers
Website
Alaska
Before work begins
None Required
Within 120 days after last performance if no notice of completion
Website
Arizona
Within 20 days from first day of furnishing labor, materials, or equipment.
None Required
Contractor: Within 90 days from the last day of work or within 45 days if notice of completion was filed.

Subs and material suppliers: Within 60 days from last day of work or within 35 days if a notice of completion filed.
Website
Arkansas
Before work begins
10 day notice to owners, except for original contractors.
Within 120 days from the last day of furnishing labor, materials or equipment.
Website
California
Within 20 days from the first day of work for Subs and Material Suppliers
None Required
Contractors: within 60 days of last day of work or within 30 days if Notice of Completion is filed.

Subs and Material Suppliers: Within 90 days of last day work or within 30 days if notice of completion is filed.
Website
Colorado
None Required
Within 10 days before filing lien
Within 4 months of last day of work.
Website
Connecticut
None Required
Within 90 days of last day of work.
Within 90 days of last day of work
Website
Delaware
None Required
None Required
General Contractor: Within 120 days but not before 90 days after the last date of work or delivery.

Subs and Materials Suppliers: Within 90 days of the completion of labor or from the last delivery of materials.
Website
District of Columbia
None Required
Within 90 days of the completion of labor or from the last delivery of materials.
Within 3 months from the completion of labor or from the last delivery of materials.
Website
Florida
Within 45 days from the first day of work.
None Required
Within 90 days of the completion of labor or from the last delivery of materials.
Website
Georgia
Within 30 days from the first day of work
None Required
If no Demand for Filing of a Claim of Lien is filed, then within 3 months after the last day of work.

If a Demand for Filing of Claim of Lien is filed, 10 days from receipt.
Website
Hawaii
None Required
None Required
Within 1 year and 45 days from the last day of work if no Notice of Completion was filed.

If a Notice of Completion is filed, within 45 days.

Idaho
None Required
Within 24 hours of filing a lien.
Within 90 days of the last day of work.
Website
Illinois
Subs and Material Suppliers ONLY : Within 60 days from first day of work or delivery
Subs and Material Suppliers ONLY: Within 90 days after last day of performance
Contractors: within 4 months after last performance against third parties & subsequent owners. Within 2 years after last performance against original owners.

Subs and Material Suppliers: 10 days after filing a lien notice
Website
Indiana
New Residential Construction Subs & Materials Suppliers Only: within 60 days of start of project.

Remodel: within 30 days.


Commercial : Not Required
General, Subs and Materials Suppliers:

Residential: Within 60 days of last furnishing of labor or materials.


Commercial: within 90 days of furnishing of labor or materials.
General, Subs and Materials Suppliers:

Residential: Within 60 days of last furnishing of labor or materials.


Commercial: within 90 days of furnishing of labor or materials.
Website
Iowa
Subs & Materials Suppliers:
Residential: Within 10 days from start.

Commercial within 30 days of start.
None Required
Within 90 days from last day of work.
Website
Kansas
Residential: no time limit.

New construction/or property for sale: prior to sale of property.
Required before lien
Within 4 months from last day of work for contractors. Within 3 months for subcontractors and material suppliers.
Website
Kentucky
None Required
Residential: Within 45 days of last day of labor or delivery of materials.

Commercial: Within 75 days on last day for claims less than $1000. Within 120 days for claims over $1000.
Private: Within 6 months after last day of labor or deliver of materials.

Public: Within 60 days of the last date of labor or delivery of materials.
Website
Louisiana
General Contractor: Before or at the time of entering into contract.

Materials Suppliers & Equipment Rental: Within 10 days of the first date of delivery
Materials Suppliers & Equipment Rental: Residential: within 10 days before filing lien.

Commercial: Within 75 days of the delivery of the materials to the job site.
General: Within 60 days of the completion of labor.

Sub-Contractor: Within 30 days of completion of labor (with a Filing of a Notice of Termination) or within 60 days if no Notice is filed)
Website
Maine
General Contractor: Prior to sale.

Sub Contractors on residential: No time limit


Commercial: none needed
None Required
Within 90 days of last day of work
Website
Maryland
None Required
Within 120 days after the last day of labor or the delivery of materials.
Within 180 days after the last day of labor or the delivery of materials.
Website
Massachussetts
At the time of entering contract *exceptions exist Ė see state statute
None Required
Within 120 days after the last day of labor or the delivery of materials if no Notice is Filed, or 90 days if Notice of Substantial Completion is Filed.
Website
Michigan
Subs & Materials Suppliers Only: Within 20 days from first day of work.
None Required
Within 90 days from last day of work.
Website
Minnesota
Subs & Materials Suppliers: Within 45 days from first day of work.

General Contractor without contract: Within 10 days from start.
None Required
Within 120 days from last day of work.
Website
Mississippi
None Required
None Required
Within 12 months from the date that monies became due.
Website
Missouri
General Contractors: Before receiving the first payment from the owner
Subs,& Materials Suppliers Only: 10 days before filing lien
Within 6 months from last day of labor or materials delivery.

Equipment Rentals: Within 60 days of removing the equipment from the job site.
Website
Montana
Subs and Materials Suppliers:

Residential & Commercial without a lender: Within 20 days from first day of work


Commercial with lender: Within 45 days
None Required
Within 90 days from last day of labor or delivery of materials.
Website
Nebraska
None Required
None Required
Within 120 days from last day of work
Website
Nevada
Within 30 days from first day of work
None Required
Within 40 days from last day of work. With notice of completion filed, Within 90 days of last day of work without notice of completion filed.
Website
New Hampshire
Prior to first day of labor or material delivery
None Required
With notice valid for 120 days
Website
New Jersey
None Required
Notice of Unpaid Balance must be filed within 90 days of last day of labor or material delivery, but before Mechanicís Lien is filed.
Within 90 days from last day of work. Within 10 days of arbitratorís decision
Website
New Mexico
Residential: Within 20 days from first day of work.

Commercial: within 60 days from first day of work.
None Required
Within 120 days from the last day of work for original contractors.

Subs and Material Suppliers: within 90 days after the last day of labor or material delivery.
Website
New York
None Required
None Required
Residential: Within 4 months from the last day of labor or material delivery.

Commercial: Within 8 months of the last day of labor or material delivery.


Public: Within 30 days of the last day of labor.
Website
North Carolina
None Required
None Required
Within 120 days from last day of labor or material delivery.
Website
North Dakota
None Required
Within 75 days of last day of labor or material delivery and at lest 15 days before the lien is filed
Within 90 days from last day of labor or material delivery.
Website
Ohio
Within 21 days from first day of work.
None Required
Residential: within 60 days from the last day of labor or material delivery.

Commercial: Within 75 days.
Website
Oklahoma
Residential: Prior to the first day of labor or material delivery.

Commercial: Subs & Suppliers only: Within 75 days of start of project.


Equipment Rental: Within 5 days of the equipment first being used on the property
None Required
Subs & materials Suppliers: Within 90 days from the last day of labor or material delivery.*

Equipment Rental companies must wait at least 60 days prior to filing a lien*


General Contractor: Within 4 months of last day of labor.
Website
Oregon
Subs & Suppliers only: Within 8 days of the first day of labor or material delivery
None Required
Within 75 days after the last day of labor or material delivery.
Website
Pennsylvania
None required as of 1/1/07
Sub-Contractors only: Within 30 days of filing lien
Within 6 months after last day of labor or material delivery.
Website
Rhode Island
None Required
Within 200 days of FIRST day of labor or materials delivery.
Within 200 days of FIRST day of labor or material delivery

Leave us your messages, complaints, comments or suggestions...

Name:
Email Address:
Contact #
Message:
 

Need Assistance or Consulting?
Contact us at...

Our Toll Free Contact Number:
1-866-796-5225
Our Office Address:
Preliendepot.com, LLC
7401 Wiles Road, Suite 301
Coral Springs, FL 33067.

What our clients say about us....

These guys are awesome! They have made my life so easy and relax that i never have to worry about any of legal matters at all! Its too easy to use their service. Great work guys!

~ Matthew McFetridge

 
We accept all types of credit cards. Certified From BBB Online Reliability Program       SSL Certificate Authority for secured connection between your computer and our servers.